Research Sources

Quick Links

Research, Articles and Newspapers
Book Resources and Recommendations
Business Resources
Genealogy Resources
Practice Tests, Job Resources and E-Books
Teens & Kids

How to access these resources from outside the Library:

  1. Have your current and up-to-date Franklin Park Public Library card handy.
  2. Click on the link of the online resource you want to use.
  3. Type in your library card number (it should begin with 21316).
  4. Type in your pin number (this will be "changeme", no quotation marks, unless it has been changed).
  5. Begin searching.


If you have any questions please contact us.

Research, Articles and Newspapers

Chicago Sun-Times logo Chicago Sun-Times
Search the Chicago Sun-Times' archives from 1986 to the present.
Chicago Tribune logo Chicago Tribune
Search the Chicago Tribune's archives from 1985 to the present & Red Eye’s archives from 2002 to the present.
newspaper Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
Search the Chicago Tribune Historical Archive for obituaries, death notices, articles, and front pages, from 1860 to 1984.
Daily Herald logo Daily Herald
Search the Daily Herald's archives from 1995 to the present.
EBSCOhost Web logo EBSCOhost Web
Choose from a variety of databases to find articles in journals, magazines & newspapers--many in full-text. Great for researching any topic, and a good source for medical & biographical information. Search Consumer Reports archives, too.

firstsearch logo FirstSearch
Find full-text articles in medicine, business, and education. Includes Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, four almanacs, and an index to US government publications.
Franklin Park Herald-Journal logo Franklin Park Herald-Journal
Search the Franklin Park Herald-Journal's archives from 1995 to the present.
newsbank logo Newsbank
Search for articles from these local/regional newspapers and archives: The Franklin Park Herald Journal, Chicago Sun-Times, The Daily Herald, The Chicago Tribune, The Chicago Tribune-RedEye Edition, and the Chicago Tribune Historical Archive. Newsbank also has archives of popular magazines such as Newsweek & US News & World Report and includes searchable video content from local affiliates of CBS & NBC dating back to 2008.

Top of page

Books

novelist logo NoveList Plus
In search of a good book? Want to find more authors that are similar to your favorites? Check out NoveList Plus, the source for books and authors, reading lists, book discussion ideas, & book reviews.

worldcat logo
WorldCat
Worldwide catalog of books and other materials in libraries. Look up and request items with your Franklin Park Library card.

Top of page

Business

reference usa logo ReferenceUSA
This is a source of information on businesses and people for researchers, students, job seekers and government agencies. ReferenceUSA contains detailed information on over 14 million businesses and 210 million households, and is continually updated.
business source premier logo Business Source Premier
The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 business publications. Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

 

Top of page

Genealogy

ancestry library edition logo Ancestry.com In library use only.
IN LIBRARY USE ONLY.  Start your family history search with Ancestry’s online tools & resources on the United States & Europe. Search approximately 4,000 databases such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930, the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps, Social Security Death Index, and a strong Civil War collection.

 

heritagequest logo HeritageQuest
Look up your ancestors and trace their paths across America in this thorough collection of over 20,000 documents, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories, in addition to more than 250 primary source documents such as tax lists, city directories, and church and probate records.

Top of page

Practice Tests, Job Resources and E-Books

Learning Express logo Learning Express Library
Improve your test-taking skills with more than 300 online practice tests based on these exams and many more: ACT, SAT, GED, GRE, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police Officer, Nursing, U.S. Citizenship, and TOEFFL. Enhance your resume writing and interviewing techniques. Explore online textbooks and use interactive skill building courses to increase your math and reading abilities. There's something here for middle school students to adults of any age.

Top of page

Teens and Kids

student research center logo Student Research Center
Homework and research help for students in high school and middle school. Find articles in magazines and newspapers, use the online dictionary and encyclopedia, and explore topics of interest. Includes biographies, videos, maps and lots of photos.

 

novelist k8 logo Novelist Plus K-8
NoveList Plus K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles, and nonfiction books and reviews. Updated monthly, NoveList K-8 is your starting place for learning about the books that you and your children and students need and will want to read!

 

kids search logo Kids Search
A fun way for students in elementary and middle school to find information and do research! Includes historical documents, newspapers, science topics, and much more. Also includes Teacher Resources.

 

searchasaurus logo Searchasaurus
A place for kids to explore the same resources as Kids Search with an attractive, easy-to-follow graphical interface.
Tumblereader Tumblereadables
Advanced readers and older students can listen to books online and see the words highlighted at the story progresses.
Tumble Readers TumbleBookLibrary
Beginning readers and younger students can listen to online books and read along or out loud. A number of Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, and Russian books are available. There are also educational puzzles & games for kids to play.

 

Top of page